I’ve done it. I’ve started a blog.

This is my first time-sharing my thoughts with the world so I’m a bit nervous. To be honest, I don’t really know where this blog project of mine is going to go but I thought I’d give it a try. Maybe this is some desperate attempt to connect with another silently suffering soul out there. Now, don’t worry, this is not meant to be another depressing, woe is me type of blog; the opposite actually. I hope to prove to others and most importantly myself that after tragedy and hardships life really does get better.

Where to begin….

I grew up in Columbia, Maryland (between Baltimore and DC), also known as Pleasantville. No seriously, look it up on Urban Dictionary it’s actually kind of embarrassing… It’s one of those suburban utopias where community mail boxes, neighborhood committees and village centers exist. Wait, you probably have no idea what I’m talking about seeing as I’m so used to speaking this weird Columbian (not spanish…) language that everyone around me just seems to just get. So let me break it down for you. Columbia is a planned community of about 97,000 people. The town is divided into villages, each with a village center consisting grocery stores, gas stations, restaurants and ice cream shops  for convenience and where community members are meant to meet and socialize. Mostly, they’re places where rich teenagers go to look tough, skateboard and try to get some poor schmuck to buy them booze.

In all seriousness it probably was one of the nicest places to grow up and now I find myself actually enjoying going back to my childhood home, enjoying all the manicured lawns and overpriced food I can no longer afford.

About a year ago I ran off to Amsterdam to live with my boyfriend, who then I had only known a few months. I turned down what I thought was my “dream job” and followed my heart to the land of tulips, clogs and bitterballen. I have to say I have no regrets. I’ve never been so in love and having the chance to live in one of the most vibrant and exciting cities in the world isn’t such a bad deal at all.

It’s definitely been an adjustment getting used to the “Dutch way” but all in all I have to say I love it here. So the weather definitely leaves a little more to be desired, and the people aren’t exactly warm and fuzzy, but there’s just something about this place that is liberating. Maybe it’s the naked women in the windows, or the tantalizing smell of marijuana wafting through the streets or maybe its the beat up stolen bike that I ride with such pride along the beautiful canal lined city streets. I haven’t quite put my finger on it, but I love it here.


One thought on “I’ve done it. I’ve started a blog.

Leave a Reply

