Bridezilla before Bride?

Is it possible that I’ve turned into a Bridezilla before I’m even a Bride?

I absolutely love weddings. I’ve loved them for as long as I can remember. Name any wedding show on TV and guaranteed I’ve watched it, every episode, probably twice.

As I’ve gotten older and into a serious relationship, that I hope will someday lead me down the aisle (in the spring, at sunset, lined with candles and gardenias), I find it difficult refocus my wedding fantasy to actually include the man waiting for me at the end of the aisle. When did a wedding turn into something that actually has nothing, or little, to do with the real reason we’re all there in the first place? It’s become all about table settings, and flowers, and place cards and invitations, the cake and don’t forget the DRESS. It’s all really quite stressful. Did I mention I’m not even engaged yet?

I think it’s time for me to take a step back… While I love my boyfriend more than I thought is even possible, I don’t want to rush into marriage just because I’m getting antsy to prance around in a white dress with say 400 (ok, maybe just 300) of my closest friends and family.

Don’t get me wrong, I still hope to one day get a beautiful engagement ring followed by the wedding of my dreams but it just may not be quite as soon as I hoped. I think I just got so excited to have finally found someone who I cannot wait to spend the rest of my life with that I’m doing just that and refusing to wait.

Afterall, as they say, the best things in life are worth waiting for.

Leave a Reply

