Impressions from Beijing

After our somewhat traumatic arrival, we finally got some sleep, a much-needed shower and had a chance to explore the city, take in the sights, many unique smells and sounds of Beijing. Initially, I really felt like I could have been in almost any other major city on earth. The skyline is filled with skyscrapers, there is a Starbucks, McDonald’s and KFC on almost every corner, the traffic is horrible 24 hours a day and you can almost feel the pollution.

But once we journeyed outside the bustling city center to enjoy some of the sights I finally began to feel like I was in China. The incredible history, vibrant colors cascading the walls and ceiling of temples and palaces and the unbelievable views from The Great Wall were unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. Even in the dead of winter the sights of Beijing took my breath away.

Below are some of my favorite photos from our trip. Much more to come, Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

