Spring Cleaning

After surviving some grueling exams resulting in a brief blogging hiatus, a quick trip home and some much-needed girl time, I’m finally feeling a bit refreshed which I think that has a little something to do with the fact that spring is finally on its way.

I love Spring. I love spring despite the fact that I have some of the worst seasonal allergies known to man and spend most of the time looking likes this:

I still can’t help picking up flowers on the way home from work, opening all the windows (in turn welcoming tons of pollen into our apartment)  and soaking up a little sun any chance I get.

It’s not just the warmer weather, longer days and colorful clothes that get me giddy just thinking of spring, it’s also the chance to sweep away (literally and figuratively) the winter blues and start fresh. I always take time in the spring to clean out my closet, donate clothes that I no longer wear and in general bring some much-needed organization to my life.

But to me, spring cleaning shouldn’t be only about cleaning out the cupboards and washing the windows, it’s also about taking the time to do the things that will help me live a healthier and happier life, things we often seem to abandon in the colder months.

Today marks the beginning of my spring cleanse. While I wish I had the will power to do some come crazy all juice or raw food diet, I don’t think I would be a very pleasant person to be around…so I will opt out this year.

I’ve picked up some cute new exercise gear (always helps to motivate me a bit), found some great healthy recipes and did a thorough decluttering of the apartment.

Love everything Lululemon

Stuffed zucchini. Yum.

Inspired by this post written by my best friend, I’m determined to shed a few pounds and get back into maid of honor shape (the wedding is just a few months away!).

Student loans and renting in Amsterdam currently limit my abilities to join a gym but luckily our new apartment is just a few blocks away from a beautiful park perfect for jogging. So as the warmer weather approaches (it is going to get warmer in Amsterdam right?) I’m excited to get outside, get fit and incorporate some healthy new habits into my weekly routine. 🙂

Spring is when life’s alive in everything. ~Christina Rossetti

One thought on “Spring Cleaning

  1. Pingback: Confessions of a wannabe foodie « travellearnlove

Leave a Reply

