A good book

There really is nothing like a good book. A book that can, even briefly, allow your mind a much-needed ‘holiday’ from the worries and uncertainties of everyday life.

It’s been so long since I’ve read a book that really moved me the way that so many in the past have (guilty pleasures like the Hunger Games and Twilight series do not count, although I have to admit I’ve read them all…) I’m just aching for a time when I can curl up on the couch with a glass of wine, or better yet lay by the pool with some skinny girl sangria, and dive into a new book.

I wasn’t always the book-worm that I am today, let’s just say CliffsNotes and I go waaayy back… It really wasn’t until my last year at Fordham University, thanks to the inspiring reading list chosen by two of my favorite professors, I finally felt the intangible yet wonderfully powerful impact of a truly good book.

Some of my favorite past reads are:

1. The Glass Castle

2. A Thousand Splendid Suns

3. The Alchemist

4. My Sister’s Keeper (love a good tear jerker)

5. Zeitoun

I’m finally nearing the end of my MBA so I’m growing a bit anxious for some free time and a chance to pick up some quality reading material for some upcoming summer trips.

 Here are some of the new books on my list inspired by this blog:

1. Delirium

2. Life is a Trip: The Transformative Magic of Travel

3. The Replacement Wife

4. The Lost Girls

5. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

Looks like a good start! What good books have you read lately? 🙂

Reading on the beach with my best friend (We didn't even know we'd brought the same book!) ❤

One thought on “A good book

Leave a Reply

