So long lazy days…

For a little over a week I’ve been temporarily job free, and I have to admit, fully enjoying the pleasures of unemployment.

I’ve taken day trips, sun bathed on our balcony, took some yoga classes, started a new book, watched a marathon of The Real Housewives of Vancouver and even enjoyed a few 2pm happy hours (much happier than 5pm FYI).

But today, it’s time to bid farewell to the lazy days. I start my new job tomorrow. No more sleeping in, gourmet breakfast or mid-morning television watching. Good-bye cat naps in the sun and impromptu lunch dates.  So long shorts and sandals and hello pencil skirts and heels.

Life as I know it is about to drastically change… OK, I have worked before and I was only unemployed for a week, but c’monI was pretty good at it.

The truth is, I probably would have completely lost it given even 1 more day without a job. As much as I’ve enjoyed lounging around in my pjs and eating egg white omelets on the balcony (I’ve really enjoyed this), I’m already starting to miss the challenge, structure and most of all satisfaction that comes from feeling as though you’ve accomplished something at the end of the day.

So I’m actually pretty excited to start working tomorrow, especially because I really think I’m going to actually enjoy my new job. I’m even looking forward to getting dressed before 10am, wearing makeup everyday and using my brain for more than trying to understand the complexities of Kardashian family drama.

So yes, good-bye lazy days, I’m a little sad to see you go but definitely looking forward to what’s ahead. I’m a bit hysterical and on the brink of a full-blown panic attack, nervous and feeling slightly intimidated to step into my new role tomorrow, but I just have to remind myself that I’m up for the challenge. With positive, smart, energetic new colleagues and interesting projects, I know this will be a wonderful and much-needed step in the right direction. I can’t wait to begin! 🙂

Oh man, this may be a bit harder than I thought 😉

2 thoughts on “So long lazy days…

  1. Pingback: Week 2 on the job « travellearnlove

Leave a Reply

