Week 2 on the job

I have survived. I’m nearing the end the second week at my new job.

I can proudly say I know where the bathroom is, know the names of the people sitting across from me and even know how to use the fancy chip payment system in the cafeteria. What can I say, I’m a fast learner.

I don’t think I blinked once my whole first day…

While most of my first week was spent looking like a deer in the headlights with a smile plastered across my face (truly American I know…), the nerves have finally begun to recede.

The truth is, at this point in my life, I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect job. I have inspiring and enthusiastic colleagues and get to do what I love all day, write. While taking criticism of my writing, albeit constructive, may take a little getting used to (let’s just say I haven’t had this many red marks on my writing since AP literature in high school…) and having someone tell you you’re brilliant feels a whole lot better, I know this is the only way to truly improve.

Let’s just hope the damage already done to my self-esteem isn’t too crippling… (just kidding… kind of).   

It’s far too easy to feel intimidated working for such a huge global company (nearly 115,000 employees) and among the best and the brightest in the field, but I just have to remind myself that I do in fact have what it takes.

So it may take me awhile to pick up the company lingo and I may feel petrified intimidated a little while longer, but I have to say for the first time in a while, I finally feel I’m exactly where I should be.

Sebastiaan snapped this picture outside my office on my first day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

