Yoga: My Happy Place

About a month ago I was really beginning to  feel the physical and emotional effects of a lazy winter spent hibernating in my apartment avoiding the cold and more importantly the scale at all costs. I grew tired of not liking what I saw in the mirror and decided to pick back up the one thing that always helps to bring me back to center, yoga.

When I stopped dancing a few years ago, my life was left with this deep void that was, and still is, so very difficult to fill. After graduating college I found myself looking for new ways to stay fit that didn’t involve pumping iron at the gym or squeezing myself back into my leotard and tights, a friend of mine suggested yoga. I, like many, first responded with a bit of skepticism thinking now how in the world can sitting on the floor with my legs crossed chanting “ohm” for an hour and fifteen minutes possibly point my body in the direction of flat abs and a perky butt? I couldn’t have been more wrong. Not only did yoga do wonders for my body, but it helped to reduce stress and bring some much-needed perspective to my life.

So maybe I haven’t quite mastered this pose yet… I’m working on it.

I’ve been going to yoga here regularly for over a month now and I can’t even begin to express how much of a difference it has made. I sleep better, have more energy and have even resumed my healthy eating habits. Apparently when you leave a yoga class you don’t really find yourself craving a burger and fries, who knew?

So I’m happy to say I’ve found my happy place. I guess twisting my body into impossible shapes among twenty or so sweaty hippies just does it for me. Hey, whatever works!

Namaste 🙂

One thought on “Yoga: My Happy Place

Leave a Reply

