To make you smile

 

A few days ago a colleague at work posted this on our internal social media site, A list of 60 tiny love stories to make you smile. Although it was another busy day in the office and I had more than enough work to do, I just couldn’t keep from reading each little story. I sat at my desk misty eyed for just a few minutes so thankful for this subtle, yet far too rare, reminder that there still is so much good in the world.

Here are some of my favorite:

1. Today, my 75-year-old grandpa who has been blind from cataracts for almost 15 years said to me, “Your grandma is just the most beautiful thing, isn’t she?” I paused for a second and said, “Yes she is. I bet you miss seeing that beauty on a daily basis.” “Sweety,” my grandpa said, “I still see her beauty every day. In fact, I see it more now than I used to when we were young.”

7. Today, I operated on a little girl. She needed O- blood. We didn’t have any, but her twin brother has O- blood. I explained to him that it was a matter of life and death. He sat quietly for a moment, and then said goodbye to his parents. I didn’t think anything of it until after we took his blood and he asked, “So when will I die?” He thought he was giving his life for hers. Thankfully, they’ll both be fine.

10. Today, I have an elderly patient who is suffering from a severe case of Alzheimer’s. He can rarely remember his own name, and he often forgets where he is and what he said just a few minutes beforehand. But by the stretch of some miracle (perhaps the miracle of love), he remembers who is wife is every morning when she shows up to spend a few hours with him. He usually greets her by saying, “Hello my beautiful Kate.”

36. Today, I sat down with my two daughters, ages 4 and 6, to explain to them that we have to move out of our 4 bedroom house and into a 2 bedroom apartment for awhile until I can find another job that pays well. My daughters looked at each other for a moment and then my youngest daughter turned to me and asked, “Are we all moving into the apartment together?” “Yes,” I replied. “Oh, so no big deal then,” she said

52. Today, I was working in a coffee shop when 2 gay men walked in holding hands.  As you might expect, heads started turning.  Then a young girl at the table next to me asked her mom why 2 men were holding hands.  Her mom replied, “Because they love each other.”

With each story more beautiful and touching than the other, I couldn’t help but think of a few of the times (although there have been many) Sebastiaan has surprised me with a simple yet incredibly sweet gesture. Even more, it really helped to put things in perspective. So we may be in our mid-late twenty’s living on a student budget  in a 5th floor walk up, but that’s OK. In fact, its more than OK. I love our tiny apartment, cheap nights out and ability to push any real adult responsibilities (mortgage, retirement plans, children) a few years back. All in all, I have to say, we have it pretty good. 🙂

“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”
― Mae West

 

Leave a Reply

