To my valentine

As cheesy as Valentine’s Day can sometimes be, I have to admit, I actually love it. OK, let’s be honest… I didn’t exactly feel this same level of enthusiasm for this heart filled holiday when I was single… In fact, not so long ago I could be found at the nearest movie theater with my best friend dressed all in black holding each other while we watched the Notebook or any other depression inducing romantic tale.vday

This year however, I’m playing for the other team. For weeks I’ve been giddy to paint my nails red and get dressed up for a special, often overdue, date night with my someone special.

The thing is, lately Sebastiaan and I have been so busy and overwhelmed with the stresses of tackling our first “grown up” jobs, paying bills and finishing school that there’s been little time for the romantic gestures that often filled the beginning of our relationship.

We, well especially me I’m afraid, haven’t taken the time to tell or more importantly show one another how much we value our relationship. This is one of the reason I love this holiday. It’s a nice reminder to send out a little extra love into the world (the flowers and chocolates don’t hurt either!).

While we may argue, we may say things we don’t mean, we may drive each other absolutely crazy and push each other’s buttons just a tad too much, when push comes to shove, there’s no one else I’d rather fall asleep with and wake up next to every single day. The past three years has had its ups and downs but I know I never would have been able to face the storms and enjoy the sunshine without Sebastiaan by my side.

Happy Valentine’s Day to my partner and love of my life. A little glance back over the last few years… 🙂

Love has no desire but to fulfill itself. To melt and be like a running brook that
sings its melody to the night. To wake at dawn with a winged heart and give
thanks for another day of loving. ~Kahlil Gibran

 

Leave a Reply

