My first Dutch soccer game

This weekend I crossed a BIG “must do” off my ‘Things I must do while living in Holland’ list. Yes folks, I attended my very first Dutch soccer game. It was aaamaazzingg!

971891_3318366215637_1390795119_n

The Dutch certainly don’t mess around when it comes to soccer (voetbal)- fans from 6 to 60 were dressed head to toe in Ajax gear and screamed, chanted and booed as appropriate throughout the nail-biting match. Thankfully, I was appropriately warned of potential hooligan behavior and earnestly practiced my Dutch cursing  beforehand– let’s just say I fit right in! 😉 photo 1photo 5

The stadium was packed with 90,000 die-hard fans and literally shook as the game went into overtime. Luckily Ajax came out on top winning 3-2 (against the other guys…) 

photo 3

It was definitely an evening I’ll never forget! In fact, it was even fun being a bit of a soccer hooligan for a night! 🙂

photo 2I’m already looking forward to our next game! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

